The Kills headline Serpentine Gallery Future Contemporaries Party 2012
17 September 2012
The Serpentine Gallery and Diesel in association with Silencio presented a stunning line-up of live acts for its Future Contemporaries Partytonight.
This annual fundraiser for the Gallery’s young patrons took placeon 17 September 2012 in the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion 2012, designed by Herzog & de Meuron and Ai Weiwei.
The Kills topped the bill, with Jamie Hince and Alice Mosshart delivering dark guitar riffs and haunting lyrics on the stage set up infront of the white columns of the Serpentine Gallery, and against the backdrop of the Herzog & De Meuron and Ai Weiwei’s visionary Pavilion. Earlier, in the intimate setting beneath the pavilion’s canopy, Chicago duo Wild Belle performed an atmospheric set of breezy pop hooks and island rhythms. There were DJ sets from France-based Brodinski and London-based Trevor Jackson, who has worked with Soulwax and The Doves. They were joined by resident DJ at Silencio Erik Rug.
Food was created by rising culinary stars Isaac McHale of The Young Turks and Daniel Willis of The Clove Club, alongside a bespoke cocktail menu created especially for the event by Rob McHardy Bar Manager from Silencio Paris and wine from Bibendum.
Guests included:
Freddie Achom; Jam Acuzar; Portia Alen-Buckley; Gwenael Allan; Alia Al-Senussi; Sharifa Alsudairi; Abdullah Khaled Al-Turki; Mila Askarova; Arthur Baker; Antonio Batista; Anja Batista; Philip Beatty; Cristina Blahnik; Margot Bowman; Leonie Brantberg; Mikael Brantberg; Chris Byrne; May Calil; Louise Cameron; Nicholas Campbell; Dinos Chapman; Mary Charteris; Leith Clark; Patrick Cunningham; Theo Danjuma; Tiphaine de Lussy; Luca Del Bono; Andree Dieoenberg; Eliza Dolittle; Elizabeth Dubois; Flora Fairbairn; Sara Farah; Annette Felder; Dani Felder; Selma Feriani; Stuart Feriff; Noel Fielding; Lydia Forte; Timothy Franks; Portia Freeman; Arnaud Frisch; Alex Fury; Sara Gilmour; James Goldstein; Jessie Good; Rebecca Guinness; Jefferson Hack; Matthew Hermer; Sophia Hesketh; Jamie Hince; Carolyn Hodler; Nicholas W. Hofgren; Kamel Jaber; Meruyert Kaliyeva; Zoe Karafylakis Sperling; Nicholas Kirkwood; Elena Kolobkova; Pinky Laing; George Lamb; Amber Le Bon; Tali Lennox; Kai Jia Lew; Eleanor Lindsay-Fynn; Dan Lywood; Dan Macmillan; Maria Fabiana Marenghi Vaselli; Penny Martin; Ann-Marie Matthijs; Janna Miller; Bobby Molavi; Kate Moss; Alison Mosshart; David Olsson; Kelly Osbourne; Clara Paget; Lana Palumbo; Lord & Lady Palumbo; Petra Palumbo; Jake Parkinson-Smith; Julia Peyton-Jones; Francesca Pinto; Lillie Rage; Piotr Rejmer; Cristina Revert Berlanga; Liberty Ross; Renzo Rosso; Robin Scott-Lawson; Holly Shackleton; Henrietta Shields; Andreas Siegfried; Andrew Simmons; Louie Spence; Stan Stalnaker; Harry Styles; David Tang; Edward Tang; Christopher Taylor; Mario Testino; Aitor Throup; Monuhar Ullah; Hans Ulrich Obrist; Rose van Cutsem; Francesca Versace; Ellen von Unwerth; Alexa Waley-Cohen; Marcus Waley-Cohen; Sam Waley-Cohen; Suki Waterhouse; Alek Wek; Alexandra Zand; Princess Eugenie of York; Sarah, Duchess of York
The Party brought together the new generation of artists, philanthropists, collectors and opinion formers to raise funds for the Serpentine Gallery’s acclaimed art, architecture, design, education and public programmes.
The Party was presented by leading fashion and lifestyle brand Diesel, founded by Renzo Rosso, in association with Silencio, the Parisian cultural club conceived and designed by David Lynch.
Diesel, well known across the world for supporting emerging and established talent in a range of creative fields, from music and film to fashion and art, are expanding this strand of its work by being the first brand partner to support the Serpentine Future Contemporaries.
Silencio is a space for creative exchange and discovery, featuring a cinema, an art library, a concert stage, performance and lecture spaces, a dance floor and a state-of-the-art cocktail bar.
The Future Contemporaries was founded by the Serpentine Gallery in 2007 to foster a new generation of philanthropists and art collectors under the age of 40, and comprises members from a wide variety of backgrounds and professions. In return for their support, the Gallery runs a programme of special events designed to give unique insight into the contemporary art world and nurture a lifelong association with it. Future Contemporaries Committee membersincludePrincess Alia Al-Senussi; Leith Clark: Flora Fairbairn; Tim Franks; Rebecca Guinness; Liz Kabler; Viscount Dan Macmillan; Bobby Molavi; Jake Parkinson-Smith; Cristina Revert; Robin Scott-Lawson: Andreas Siegfried; Stan Stalnaker; Christopher Taylor; Rose van Cutsem; Alexa and Marcus Waley-Cohen and Jonathan Wood.